Working in Newfoundland and doing ok…..

Been a while since I’ve been on my blog and that’s because I’ve been working almost everyday and most of the days have been long. That’s it though when you’re a seasonal worker at a local fish plant. We got to make hay while the sun shines…lol. It’s hard going but we get our money and we get our stamps and when Aug. rolls around we have the rest of the year off. Then we’re free to catch up on all the work that didn’t get done while we were busy working. Personally I wouldn’t trade it for city living even if you gave me a million dollars. Sometimes it’s difficult living so far away from urban amenities but somehow the salt water and fresh air makes it all worth while. I certainly don’t miss the hustle and bustle of city life, the constant sound of traffic and sirens, the fake people living fake lives and pretending they’re something they’re not. Of course they’re not all like that but a lot are. I do enjoy opening my door and hearing the seagulls and watching the tide come in and out. That’s when I have time to do so…lol.

This is a picture I took down at work the other day. It was beautiful and calm and a fisherman’s boat was tied to the wharf. I blocked out the identifying numbers because it seemed like the right thing to do. I don’t know who owns the boat but some may recognize it. One thing for sure it belongs to an honest fisherman making an honest living for himself and his family. It’s quite a beautiful picture if you click on it and view it full screen.

boat in triton

Leave a comment